It is currently Mon Mar 18, 2019 7:26 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]


Forum rules


When asking for help, make sure you are using the latest stable version of Daphne with the latest DaphneLoader. "For sale", auction, or ebay links do not belong here. Legal discussion is discouraged.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: help on DL2 & Badlands
PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 8:31 pm 
Registered User
Registered  User

Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 3:21 pm
Posts: 9
Hi, I've been able to get Daphne working for most games, but a few are still giving me trouble.

DL2
My framefile is this:
C:\Daphne\lair2\
-490 lair2.m2v

I note that the seektest page doesn't show an example for DL2, so I was just using the figure -490 as supplied to me by another Daphne user.

I get this error in the log:
--DAPHNE version 0.99.7
--Command line is: C:\Daphne\daphne.exe lair2 vldp -framefile C:\Daphne\framefile.txt
--CPU : GenuineIntel 3000 MHz || Mem : 512 megs
--OS : Windows XP/.NET || Video : Intel(R) 82915G/GV/910GL Express Chipset Family
Set 640x480 at 32 bpp with flags: 0
Initializing sound system ...
No joysticks detected
Loading ./roms/lair2/dl2_319.bin ... 65536 bytes read into memory
Framefile Parse Error
Framefile Parse Error
Expected a number followed by a string, but on line 2, found this: lair2.m2v(0x20 0x20 0x6C 0x61 0x69 0x72 0x32 0x2E 0x6D 0x32 0x76 )
Mpeg Path : C:/Daphne/lair2/
---BEGIN FRAMEFILE CONTENTS---
C:\Daphne\lair2\
lair2.m2v

---END FRAMEFILE CONTENTS---
You must specify a -framefile argument when using VLDP.
If you didn't, then this is the problem. :)
Could not initialize laserdisc player!
Shutting down sound system...
Shutting down video display...
Expected a number followed by a string, but on line 2, found this: lair2.m2v(0x20 0x20 0x6C 0x61 0x69 0x72 0x32 0x2E 0x6D 0x32 0x76 )
Mpeg Path : C:/Daphne/lair2/
---BEGIN FRAMEFILE CONTENTS---
C:\Daphne\lair2\
lair2.m2v

---END FRAMEFILE CONTENTS---
You must specify a -framefile argument when using VLDP.
If you didn't, then this is the problem. :)
Could not initialize laserdisc player!
Shutting down sound system...
Shutting down video display...

I also tried a positive figure (1) instead of -490 and still got the same results. Any advice?

BADLANDS
I get the startup screen that give the warning about timing problems and LDP commands, and then it just sits and does nothing. The end of the log shows this:

Framefile parse succeeded. Video/Audio directory is: C:/Daphne/badlands/
YUV overlay is hardware accelerated.
WARNING : Your MPEG doesn't match your video overlay's resolution.
Video overlay will not work!
Your MPEG's size is 512 x 480, and needs to be 640 x 512

Is there a way to resize the m2v or do I need to find a proper size copy or is there a way in Daphne to override this?

Thanks much,

Joe


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Two questions
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 6:57 am 
DAPHNE Gold Donator
DAPHNE Gold Donator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 11:32 am
Posts: 82
Location: California
Hi there,

I'm still learnign this software, but maybe I could help. Firstly, I noticed that the output of your error log mentions vldp's usage of a framefile called framefile.txt; is this the exact name of the frame file that you are using for DL2? If it isn't, that could be your problem, as it may be unable to find the frame file you made (I was under the impression that the file should match the name of the rom set). Also, is your source footage one singular file, or several video files? If it's the latter, you'd need to set your frame file for each instance of footage.

As for your badlands video issue, you'd need to resize the footage in an application like TMPGenc. As the error log mentioned, both the overlay size and video footage must match to work and emulate properly. I'm sure things would look very odd and play poorly if you were able to ignore this error and force things as they are. There are various types of video-editing tutorials and software recommendations at the Video-Help website. I hope this info helps you in some way...


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Badlands frame skipping
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 8:33 am 
Registered User
Registered  User

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 5:38 am
Posts: 2
I'm having problems running Badlands properly. The game starts fine but doesn't let me play, it just cycles through all of the video, death scenes included until I run out of lives, whereupon the high score screen appears and it automatically enters all of the characters of the alphabet and 0 to 9. If I leave it it just loops infinitely.

[snip, see forum rules about downloaded files]

Here is my logfile:

--DAPHNE version 0.101.22
--Command line is: daphne.exe badlands vldp -framefile C:\Daphne\framefile\Badlands\badlands.txt -blank_searches -precache -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir . -bank 0 00000000 -bank 1 10000001 -sound_buffer 2048 -fullscreen -x 640 -y 480 -opengl
--CPU : AuthenticAMD 3050 MHz || Mem : 1024 megs
--OS : Windows XP/.NET || Video : Radeon X1950 Pro
Setting alternate home dir:
.
Setting sound buffer size to 2048
Setting screen width to 640
Setting screen height to 480
Set 640x480 at 32 bpp with flags: 80000002
Initializing sound system ...
No joysticks detected
Remapping input ...
dbg: about to call load_roms()
Loading ./roms/badlands/badlands.a13 ... 8192 bytes read into memory
Loading ./roms/badlands/badlands.a14 ... 8192 bytes read into memory
Loading ./roms/badlands/badlands.c8 ... 8192 bytes read into memory
Loading ./roms/badlands/badlands.c4 ... 32 bytes read into memory
Framefile parse succeeded. Video/Audio directory is: C:/Daphne/framefile/Badlands/./
OpenGL v2.0 is supported.
Booting ROM ...
LDV1000: Reject received (ignored)
Display disable received
Play
Pause
Unsupported LD-V1000 Command Received: 0
Unsupported LD-V1000 Command Received: f2
Play
Unsupported LD-V1000 Command Received: f2
LDP : disc is already playing, play command ignored
Play
Display disable received
Pause
Search to 151 received
search succeeded d0
Play
Pause
Search to 1959 received
search succeeded d0
Play
Pause
Search to 2814 received
search succeeded d0
Play
Pause
Search to 3490 received
search succeeded d0
Play
Pause
Search to 3675 received
search succeeded d0
Play
Pause
Search to 3838 received
search succeeded d0
Play
Freeing memory used to store audio stream...
Shutting down sound system...
Shutting down video display...


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 2:22 pm 
Registered User
Registered  User

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 5:38 am
Posts: 2
Considering that the core information I supplied in my previous post was removed, I tend to wonder whether anyone can be of help.
Nice one.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: help on DL2 & Badlands
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2012 5:42 pm 
Registered User
Registered  User

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 6:00 pm
Posts: 2
Hi,

I have exactly the same issue as Killseeker explained for Badlands

[quote="Killseeker"]having problems running Badlands properly. The game starts fine but doesn't let me play, it just cycles through all of the video, death scenes included until I run out of lives, whereupon the high score screen appears and it automatically enters all of the characters of the alphabet and 0 to 9. If I leave it it just loops infinitely.[/quote]

I do not know if this was solved already. I can't find any help on this.

I am using Daphne 1.0 with Windows XP
Thanks


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: help on DL2 & Badlands
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2012 11:21 am 
Registered User
Registered  User

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 6:00 pm
Posts: 2
OK SOLVED. Had to download a fresh copy of Badlands video files and now working good !


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net