It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2019 5:39 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]


Forum rules


When asking for help, make sure you are using the latest stable version of Daphne with the latest DaphneLoader. "For sale", auction, or ebay links do not belong here. Legal discussion is discouraged.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Some bugs in V.1.0 ?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:54 am 
DAPHNE Platinum Donator
DAPHNE Platinum Donator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 114
Location: Italy
I've been setting up several batch files to start Daphne in my multigame machine and I've come up with the following problems :

- Dragon's lair 2 V.2.11 to V3.14 : game either not completes boot sequence or starts but it is impossible to insert a coin (looks like freezed with attract sequence running)
- Dragon's lair Beta 2 : game looks for rom files with names dl_x_u1.bin to dl_x_u5.bin but files in lair_x.zip have different names, thus not starts
- Dragon's lair 2 V.3.17 : game starts but reports this:
ERROR: Unknown game type specified : lair2_317
Bad command line or initialization problem (see daphne_log.txt for details). To run DAPHNE, you must specify which game to run and which laserdisc player you are using. For example, try 'daphne lair noldp' to run Dragon's Lair in testing mode.


Also in "roms" folder I cannot see lair_317.zip.

I have also problems when trying to play early versions of USA Dragon's lair, particularly the ones that use PR-7820 as laserdisc player (wrong attract sequence duration, timing of moves is off). Are there any specific settings so that VLDP can better simulate the behavior of the original player ?
Can anyone please confirm these problems and/or help ?
So far I've only put in place a workaround to fix DL Beta 2 rom issue, by extracting the roms in roms\lair_x and renaming them as Daphne expects.
Thanks,

Matteo 8)


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Some bugs in V.1.0 ?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 11:20 pm 
DAPHNE Platinum Donator
DAPHNE Platinum Donator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 114
Location: Italy
I'm using the latest Daphne version, i.e. v1.0.12.
I'd like to report a few minor issues I've noticed:

- MACH 3 CPU emulated audio is missing one channel. Or it might be that there is a problem with timing of the playback. Just guessing here. You can hear this problem very well during the hi score enter your name screen. The correct music played there can be heard briefly in the last seconds of this video.
- Again on MACH 3, if attract sound is enabled, you can hear the "cruising" sound of the plane flying just when the attract sequence video starts and "MACH 3" is displayed on screen. In Daphne you don't hear it. If I have sometime I will make a video of my cabinet which is (was!) still running with original HW.
- When I run a game for the first time on my laptop, the video file parse starts.The video parser bar uses all the video area which is 1366x768. After parsing is done, the game starts in fullscreen mode and the left and right part of the video area still show the parser bar. So it's missing a video area clear before starting the game.
- Again on my laptop, if I launch a game that has a warning message at the beginning, I see the "This game's emulation has know problems" message aligned to the left of the screen, using about half the horizontal size of it, while the text warning related to the particular game is centered in the middle of the screen.

Hope these can be fixed at one point in the future.
Thanks for reading.

_________________
Matteo


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Some bugs in V.1.0 ?
PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 4:22 pm 
DAPHNE Creator
DAPHNE Creator

Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 2118
Location: Salt Lake City,Utah, USA
Thanks, Teo.

I actually knew about the MACK 3 audio bug and you are the first (and only) person to report it. I was wondering if anyone would ever find it hehehe. The audio used to work but then in the final version of the sound code that MarkB did he broke it somehow. I've always intended to go back in SVN and see what he broke but never have.

onward with Dexter wook :)

_________________
Check out my cool projects!


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Some bugs in V.1.0 ?
PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 9:06 pm 
DAPHNE Platinum Donator
DAPHNE Platinum Donator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 114
Location: Italy
OK, Matt.
I also wanted to report an incorrect timing in DL2. The boot up sequence plays faster than the original machine. Also the hi-score enter your name screen has the blinking way too fast with respect to the original. It looks like there is a temporal emulation of the whole machine which runs faster than the original. Not sure if this has also an impact on the actual gameplay. If I have sometime I will make some YouTube videos of my machines so to show what the original behaviour looks like.
Keep up the good work, with both Dexter and Daphne hopefully.

_________________
Matteo


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Some bugs in V.1.0 ?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 4:04 pm 
DAPHNE Platinum Donator
DAPHNE Platinum Donator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 114
Location: Italy
I found another bug in Daphne that causes a crash.
Steps to reproduce:

- start Badlands
- play a game
- get a decent score (for example > 20000)
- enter your initials in the hi-score table after game over
- let it run idle in attract mode

After some attract cycles Daphne will crash. I've seen this happening on three different machines.
The relevant part of daphne_log.txt after the crash is the following:

Search to 34341 received
search succeeded d0
Play
Pause
Search to 34540 received
search succeeded d0
Play
Pause
Search to 34932 received
search succeeded d0
Play
Pause
Search to 20489 received
search succeeded d0
Play
Pause
LDP : Received pause while disc was not playing, ignoring
Search to 151 received
search succeeded d0
Play
Pause
LDP : Received pause while disc was not playing, ignoring
Search to 151 received
search succeeded d0
Play
Pause
LDP : Received pause while disc was not playing, ignoring
Search to 151 received
search succeeded d0
Play
Pause
LDP : Received pause while disc was not playing, ignoring
Search to 151 received
search succeeded d0
Play
Pause
LDP : Received pause while disc was not playing, ignoring
Search to 151 received
search succeeded d0
Play
Pause
LDP : Received pause while disc was not playing, ignoring
Search to 151 received
search succeeded d0
Play
Pause
LDP : Received pause while disc was not playing, ignoring
Search to 151 received
search succeeded d0
Play
Pause
LDP : Received pause while disc was not playing, ignoring
Search to 151 received
search succeeded d0
Play
Pause
LDP : Received pause while disc was not playing, ignoring
Search to 151 received
search succeeded d0
Play
Problem reading samples!

I would have attached the entire log but txt attachments are not allowed in this forum...

Image

_________________
Matteo


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Some bugs in V.1.0 ?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 8:18 pm 
DAPHNE Creator
DAPHNE Creator

Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 2118
Location: Salt Lake City,Utah, USA
All good finds, thanks Teo

_________________
Check out my cool projects!


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Some bugs in V.1.0 ?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:27 pm 
DAPHNE Platinum Donator
DAPHNE Platinum Donator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 114
Location: Italy
While testing out a couple of euro ROM revisions I've recently been given, I found another problem in Daphne related to DL2 emulation. I tried to run V.3.12 euro as V.3.19 in Daphne by disabling the CRC check and renaming the files as required by Daphne, however here's what I got:

--DAPHNE version 1.0.12
--Command line is: daphne.exe lair2_319_euro vldp -framefile C:/Programmi/Daphne/vldp_dl/lair2/dl2-framefile.txt -blank_searches -min_seek_delay 1000 -seek_frames_per_ms 20 -homedir C:\Programmi\Daphne -nocrc -sound_buffer 2048 -fullscreen -x 640 -y 480
--CPU : AuthenticAMD 950 MHz || Mem : 2048 megs
--OS : Windows XP/.NET || Video : NVIDIA GeForce 6200SE TurboCache(TM)
--OpenGL: Compiled In
--RGB2YUV Function: MMX
--Line Blending Function: MMX
--Audio Mixing Function: MMX
Setting alternate home dir:
C:\Programmi\Daphne
Disabling ROM CRC check...
Setting sound buffer size to 2048
Setting screen width to 640
Setting screen height to 480
Set 640x480 at 32 bpp with flags: 80000001
Initializing sound system ...
No joysticks detected
Remapping input ...
Loading compressed ROM image dl2euro3.19.bin...65536 bytes read.
Framefile parse succeeded. Video/Audio directory is: C:/Programmi/Daphne/vldp_dl/lair2/./
YUV overlay is hardware accelerated.
Loaded 128 bytes from C:\Programmi\Daphne/ram/lair2_319_euro.gz
Play
Booting ROM ...
End of audio stream detected!
VP932: Got command
X
VP932: Error in command
X
VP932: Got command
,1
VP932: Got command
EN
VP932: #Video transcoded NTSC (ignored)
VP932: Got command
)0
VP932: Transmittion Delay off (ignored)
VP932: Got command
(X
VP932: CX normal (ignored)
VP932: Got command
D/S00
VP932: Text on screen (ignored)
VP932: Got command
D/B0
VP932: Text on screen (ignored)
VP932: Got command
D/O0305
VP932: Text on screen (ignored)
VP932: Got command
D0
VP932: Picture Number/time code display off (ignored)
VP932: Got command
A1B1
VP932: Got command
D/HCL
VP932: Text on screen (ignored)
VP932: Got command
F00722R
Search to 722 received
Freeing memory used to store audio stream...
NOTE: converting FPKS from 29970 to 23976. This may be less accurate.
VP932: Got command
?F
VP932: Got command
*
LDP : Received pause while disc was not playing, ignoring
VP932: Got command
D/W0507@ DRAGONS @
VP932: Text on screen (ignored)
VP932: Got command
D/W0607@LAIR - II @
VP932: Text on screen (ignored)
VP932: Got command
D/W0707@TIME WARP @
VP932: Text on screen (ignored)
VP932: Got command
D/W0707@VERS:3.12@
VP932: Text on screen (ignored)
VP932: Got command
D/HCL
VP932: Text on screen (ignored)
VP932: Got command
D/W0507@THE LELAND@
VP932: Text on screen (ignored)
VP932: Got command
D/W0607@ CORP. @
VP932: Text on screen (ignored)
VP932: Got command
D/W0707@ (C) 1991 @
VP932: Text on screen (ignored)
VP932: Got command
D/W0507@ SULLIVAN @
VP932: Text on screen (ignored)
VP932: Got command
D/W0607@ BLUTH CO.@
VP932: Text on screen (ignored)
VP932: Got command
D/HCL
VP932: Text on screen (ignored)
EEP unhandled OPCode 0 with address 3
Saved 128 bytes to lair2_319_euro.gz
Freeing memory used to store audio stream...
Shutting down sound system...
Shutting down video display...

Could it be a problem of the non volatile memory that needs to be reset since I've changed the ROM from 3.19 to 3.12 which perhaps uses a different eeprom format?

_________________
Matteo


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net