It is currently Thu Jun 20, 2019 5:51 am


All times are UTC [ DST ]


Forum rules


When asking for help, make sure you are using the latest stable version of Daphne with the latest DaphneLoader. "For sale", auction, or ebay links do not belong here. Legal discussion is discouraged.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: keyboard/joystick controls....
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 12:30 pm 
Registered User
Registered  User

Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 11:44 am
Posts: 3
Hey all;

First off, I made my wife happy when I got Daphne to run DL & SA - back in the day, she was an ace with both! So BIG THANK YOU!!!! Now, to my question: is there a listing anywhere detailing the various arcade controls and their keyboard configs? I just got M.A.C.H. 3 - runs great, btw - BUT i know there were separate cannon & missile triggers; cannon I got, but can't figger the missile trigger. Also, assuming I knew the kb equivalents, can I configure my older Sidewinder joystick or game pad to work with Daphne (I tried with Dragon's Lair but it didn't seem to work).

Any and all help greatly appreciated.

p.s.: I love this software! (so far, lol)


p.s.s.: I'd attach my log file, but i got s message saying that .txt files were not allowed.

_________________
"No matter where you go, there you are."
Buckaroo Banzi


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: keyboard/joystick controls....
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:10 pm 
DAPHNE Platinum Donator
DAPHNE Platinum Donator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 114
Location: Italy
You should read the DaphneWiki.
And also get the official Daphne from here.

_________________
Matteo


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: keyboard/joystick controls....
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:11 pm 
Registered User
Registered  User

Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 11:44 am
Posts: 3
italiandoh wrote:
You should read the DaphneWiki.
And also get the official Daphne from here.


I did both. The wiki is a little unclear on just what external input gear daphne will take, and only includes keyboard info for DL, DL2, SA & TQ. M3 was played with a fighter style joystick with a cannon trigger and a missile trigger; the space bar works for the cannon (the default direction keys also work nicely), but I have no idea which key emulates the other - hence my question. If I knew what key is was, I could assign it to my joystick. I have the latest version of Daphne as of last week, and I must correct myself: I've only used the game pad, not the joystick - which is why I got M3 in the first place. The input config took key changes from the pad, but it didn't work in game.

If you know where I can find a kb layout for M3, or know someone who does, I'd sure appreciate it.

_________________
"No matter where you go, there you are."
Buckaroo Banzi


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: keyboard/joystick controls....
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:59 pm 
DAPHNE Platinum Donator
DAPHNE Platinum Donator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 114
Location: Italy
RJsDad wrote:
italiandoh wrote:
You should read the DaphneWiki.
And also get the official Daphne from here.


I did both.


Oh, really? Then you need a new pair of glasses! :D
From the wiki:

The default DAPHNE keyboard controls are:

CTRL or Space Bar Button #1 (Primary fire and/or Sword)
Left ALT Button #2 (Alternate fire, used in Bega's Battle, Cobra Command, etc)
Left Shift Button #3 (used in a few games like Road Blaster, if memory serves)

_________________
Matteo


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: keyboard/joystick controls....
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 9:07 pm 
Registered User
Registered  User

Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 11:44 am
Posts: 3
Oops, maybe I do....in my defense, tough, I was up rather late and my mind may not have been firing on all cylinders.....
:oops: :oops:
So...I...ahhh...well, I guess I'll try that and see how it works, then.

"...another fine rant completely ruined by facts andsimple logic."

Thanks for reminding to LOOK before I post!! Research may be tedious...but it sure cuts down on the stupid questions. LOL

Ciao for now!

_________________
"No matter where you go, there you are."
Buckaroo Banzi


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: keyboard/joystick controls....
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 5:49 pm 
DAPHNE Silver Donator
DAPHNE Silver Donator

Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 12:49 am
Posts: 17
RJsDad wrote:
I just got M.A.C.H. 3 - runs great, btw.



I thought M.A.C.H. 3 was still buggy? As I recall, the last time that I played mine, the graphics & video didn't line up correctly, or there were enemy planes outright missing...

Please confirm. I have 1.0 & I see that 1.0 still seems to be the highest rev available.

Thank you,
-Jason


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: keyboard/joystick controls....
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 7:13 pm 
DAPHNE Platinum Donator
DAPHNE Platinum Donator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 114
Location: Italy
AFAIK, MACH III works fine in Daphne apart from some pcb generated sound known issues.

_________________
Matteo


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: keyboard/joystick controls....
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 1:41 am 
DAPHNE Silver Donator
DAPHNE Silver Donator

Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 12:49 am
Posts: 17
I think I'm pleased to have found myself corrected!

In fighter mode, the targets are rather jittery & I thought that there was more correlation between rectangular targets & terrain out in the desert.

And, in bomber mode, the targets appear to all be drawn a bit too far to the left relative to the laser disc footage. Also, there's permanently a target dancing at the top right corner of the screen.


But, I just watched several YouTube videos, some advertised as running on MAME, and all appear to perform like mine running on DAPHNE.

I guess I mis-remembered the game as it played back in the arcades.


Thanks,
-Jason


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: keyboard/joystick controls....
PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2013 8:04 pm 
Registered User
Registered  User

Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 7:49 pm
Posts: 0
Hello, i have a problem with Daphne running under xp and hyperspin, the only time it works fine is with the mouse connected, when i disconnect the mouse (its an multi arcade bartop) Daphne gives me an imput error, and wont load.
any suggestions?

Thank you


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: keyboard/joystick controls....
PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2014 11:21 pm 
Registered User
Registered  User

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2014 10:48 pm
Posts: 0
I have a new problem under this general topic heading. I am using an 8-button joystick #0 to control Daphne. I am launching Daphne from command line.

The directional controls work great, the fire button works great, but now I need to map buttons 7 and 8 to be Start 1 and Coin 1. I tried to use DaphneLoader to do this, and it looked like it worked (showed as buttons 7 and 8 in Daphneloader screen), but for some reason these functions are being mapped to joystick buttons 5 (Coin1) and 6 (Start1) when I actually launch Daphne. (Note my numbering convention for my joystick buttons is 1 through 8, not 0 through 7).

I then tried to map joystick buttons using a two-line dapinput.ini. Note that I did not call for dapinput.ini in my command line options. My dapinput.ini was:

KEY_START1 = 0 0 7
KEY_COIN1 = 0 0 8

Same results as before, joystick buttons 5 and 6 are acting like Coin1 and Start1.

Can anyone tell me how to solve this? Is it possible I need different numerical codes in dapinput.ini? Or do I need to invoke dapinput.ini in the command line?


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: keyboard/joystick controls....
PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2015 11:49 am 
DAPHNE Platinum Donator
DAPHNE Platinum Donator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 114
Location: Italy
Try reading here.
Happy 2015 to all board readers!

_________________
Matteo


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: keyboard/joystick controls....
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:28 am 
Registered User
Registered  User

Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2014 10:48 pm
Posts: 0
Matteo, thanks for the post - I actually went to the location you suggested before I made this post. Even when I use the information there, I still see this problem. It's really weird.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net