It is currently Tue Jan 22, 2019 4:30 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 125 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: DAPHNE v1.0 (beta) ready for testing
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 3:15 am 
DAPHNE Creator
DAPHNE Creator

Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 2118
Location: Salt Lake City,Utah, USA
Yes, you read right... the next generation of Daphne is ready for testing.

This version features full, Digital Leisure approved, automatic downloads of Dragon's Lair, Dragon's Lair 2, Space Ace, and Thayer's Quest! No more dvd2daph, no more framefiles, no more configuration! Just select the game you want and click Start.

If you already have DaphneLoader v2.1.10 or higher you do not need to download anything! (DaphneLoader will auto-update itself).

win32: http://www.daphne-emu.com/download/daph ... -win32.zip

x86 linux: http://www.daphne-emu.com/download/daph ... nux.tar.gz

mac osx (universal x86/ppc binary) : http://daphne-emu.com/download/daphne-1 ... sx.dmg.zip
(this is the same as the preview that was released a few months ago, but it will auto-update itself to the latest build)

This software is beta so please report bugs here. Bugs in v0.99.7 are not eligible (this includes goal to go).


Last edited by Matt Ownby on Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:04 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 3:38 am 
DAPHNE Team
DAPHNE Team

Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 908
Location: San Francisco
wow... it's been a long time coming. Congrats to all!





...are we the first emulator to hit 1.0?! hehe.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:17 pm 
DAPHNE Creator
DAPHNE Creator

Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 2118
Location: Salt Lake City,Utah, USA
Mac OSX binaries are now available


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 9:25 am 
Registered User
Registered  User
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 8:50 pm
Posts: 17
Location: Italy
> Digital Leisure approved

WOW! :o


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 9:16 am 
DAPHNE Bronze Donator
DAPHNE Bronze Donator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:40 am
Posts: 30
Nice. The new version has some really good improvements, especially in DL 2. If this the beta is this good, I can't wait for the final version.

_________________
Image

Looks like a long way down.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: port forwarding
PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 6:45 pm 
DAPHNE Silver Donator
DAPHNE Silver Donator

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:56 am
Posts: 23
Great, can't wait to play it!

I downloaded and extracted the file. Now the download is in progress but I'm only getting between 40 and 60 KiB/s... is that normal? I have the correct port forwarded but I'm think it's not really. I also tried turning off the Firewall. I'm running Windows Vista.

Any advice?

Also...what's the best version of the Digital Leisure DVDs to purchase?

TIA for any advice/suggestions.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 8:40 pm 
DAPHNE Team
DAPHNE Team
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:51 pm
Posts: 202
The best version of the DVDs to get would be the 20th Anniversary DVD set as this contains Dragon's Lair, Dragon's Lair II, and space Ace.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 2:13 am 
DAPHNE Silver Donator
DAPHNE Silver Donator

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:56 am
Posts: 23
Layer wrote:
The best version of the DVDs to get would be the 20th Anniversary DVD set as this contains Dragon's Lair, Dragon's Lair II, and space Ace.


Cool, thanks for the response. I tried Digital Leisure's "Deluxe Pack" of the three games but it wouldn't work. This pack is made for Windows 95 and is CD based, so I need to locate the DVD versions now. :(


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 2:49 am 
Registered User
Registered  User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 2:40 am
Posts: 6
I have loaded the loaded the beta version of Daphne Loader. I have DL, DL2 & SA DVD roms from Digital Leisure. I can only get DL2 to work. When I try to play DL or SA I get the meesage to insert the proper DVD. I do that and then it says that it can not find the DVD please locate the Root Directory. Any input would be greatly helpfull I loved these games as I grew up and the Digital Leisure game for the DVD, PS2, Xbox just didn't cut it for me.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 4:07 am 
DAPHNE Team
DAPHNE Team
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:51 pm
Posts: 202
It would help to know the platform you are using - Win, Mac, or Linux.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 4:49 am 
Registered User
Registered  User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 2:40 am
Posts: 6
I am sorry tried to be complete...I am running Daphne Loader for windows


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 6:21 am 
DAPHNE Creator
DAPHNE Creator

Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 2118
Location: Salt Lake City,Utah, USA
Lizard King wrote:
I have loaded the loaded the beta version of Daphne Loader. I have DL, DL2 & SA DVD roms from Digital Leisure. I can only get DL2 to work. When I try to play DL or SA I get the meesage to insert the proper DVD. I do that and then it says that it can not find the DVD please locate the Root Directory. Any input would be greatly helpfull I loved these games as I grew up and the Digital Leisure game for the DVD, PS2, Xbox just didn't cut it for me.


Go here https://www.daphne-emu.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=2241 and send me your scans for DL and SA and I will look into it.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 2:04 pm 
Registered User
Registered  User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 2:40 am
Posts: 6
Matt

I downloaded the DVD scan extracted it to my pc. When I ran it I got a "Unable to Locate Component" error. The error is saying it faild to start becase MSVCR71.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: can't move folder
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 2:19 pm 
DAPHNE Silver Donator
DAPHNE Silver Donator

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:56 am
Posts: 23
I don't know if this is a known bug or not, but I can't copy the extracted folder to another place on my hard drive -- it gives all sorts of autoloader errors.

I am running MS Vista.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 7:14 pm 
DAPHNE Creator
DAPHNE Creator

Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 2118
Location: Salt Lake City,Utah, USA
Lizard King wrote:
Matt

I downloaded the DVD scan extracted it to my pc. When I ran it I got a "Unable to Locate Component" error. The error is saying it faild to start becase MSVCR71.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem.


I have included these missing .DLL's in the zip file. You can try again now.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: can't move folder
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 7:15 pm 
DAPHNE Creator
DAPHNE Creator

Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 2118
Location: Salt Lake City,Utah, USA
DaverJ wrote:
I don't know if this is a known bug or not, but I can't copy the extracted folder to another place on my hard drive -- it gives all sorts of autoloader errors.

I am running MS Vista.


Can you give an example of an 'autoloader' error? I don't know what that means


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:00 pm 
Registered User
Registered  User

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 8:29 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Planet O
Hello guys !
First thank you very much for allowing to everybody to play these old but great games i loved when i was i child :wink: :D :wink: :wink: :D
This release is stunning ! but i have a little problem... :-?
I'm a linux user and my operative system partition is small but i can't change the download directory.
I'd like to start downloading a game into another location but how could i do this ?

The first time i put daphne in /usr/games ,next cause the partition is small i moved the directory in another mounted partition but always same problem !

Many thanks in advance !


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:22 pm 
DAPHNE Creator
DAPHNE Creator

Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 2118
Location: Salt Lake City,Utah, USA
albatros wrote:
Hello guys !
First thank you very much for allowing to everybody to play these old but great games i loved when i was i child :wink: :D :wink: :wink: :D
This release is stunning ! but i have a little problem... :-?
I'm a linux user and my operative system partition is small but i can't change the download directory.
I'd like to start downloading a game into another location but how could i do this ?

The first time i put daphne in /usr/games ,next cause the partition is small i moved the directory in another mounted partition but always same problem !

Many thanks in advance !


It wants to download to your home directory, which by default is $HOME/.daphne

You can change your homedir by adding "-homedir your/new/folder" to the command line when running the daphneloader script.

(or you can setup a symbolink link to the default location)


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:45 pm 
Registered User
Registered  User

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 8:29 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Planet O
Clear !!!!! :lol:


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:27 pm 
Registered User
Registered  User

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 8:29 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Planet O
I've another question....,i've seen the space ace gameplay on dvd players is jerky when the user selects the appropriate action, does the emulator work better ?
t.you


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:45 pm 
Registered User
Registered  User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 2:40 am
Posts: 6
Matt Just a quick post to let you know that I E-mailed the scans of my DVD's to you via the "dvdscan@rulecity.com". Thank you so much


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: RAM folder read only?
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 5:48 pm 
DAPHNE Silver Donator
DAPHNE Silver Donator

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:56 am
Posts: 23
I was messing with Cliff Hanger and was having problems getting the video to play beyond the first session.

I found the workaround is to delete the file in the RAM folder before each time I played it. I notice the RAM folder is marked "Read only"... I tried unchecking this but no matter what I do it seems to revert back to read-only. I am running Windows Vista.

I'm no programmer, but my guess is that the game is trying to write a file to the RAM folder and, if there's already a file there, it's hanging. Any thoughts?


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 6:20 am 
DAPHNE Creator
DAPHNE Creator

Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 2118
Location: Salt Lake City,Utah, USA
There may be various problems with Vista.

Did you check the daphne_log.txt file to see what the error was?


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 18, 2007 10:42 pm 
DAPHNE Platinum Donator
DAPHNE Platinum Donator

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 54
Location: italy
excellent work!!!
it seem also esh has gain more quality gameplay!


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 8:24 am 
DAPHNE Creator
DAPHNE Creator

Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 2118
Location: Salt Lake City,Utah, USA
Yes, Esh has been improved. Thanks for noticing :)


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 9:48 am 
DAPHNE Platinum Donator
DAPHNE Platinum Donator

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 54
Location: italy
to say thanks to you and your staff,cause esh is my preferite game, i'll make asap an donation for this improvee eand good work.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 12:41 pm 
Registered User
Registered  User

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 8:29 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Planet O
Ok,finally i'm successful to play DL with dapne 1.0 and i MUST say the gameplay is fluid ,there are no jerks like playing it on a normal dvd player.
:lol: :) :lol:


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 9:49 pm 
Registered User
Registered  User

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 8:29 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Planet O
albatros wrote:
Ok,finally i'm successful to play DL with dapne 1.0 and i MUST say the gameplay is fluid ,there are no jerks like playing it on a normal dvd player.
:lol: :) :lol:

...and right now i've been testing the new windows daphne loader 2.1.46,the space ace home-dvd NOW is recognized correctly,when the linux version ? :wink: :P


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2007 2:52 am 
DAPHNE Bronze Donator
DAPHNE Bronze Donator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:40 am
Posts: 30
I haven't run into any problems with the disks but I will let you know Matt when something does go wrong. I'm not the kind of guy that likes switching his OS from XP till Vista is drastically improved. lol

_________________
Image

Looks like a long way down.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: new version?
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 1:05 am 
DAPHNE Silver Donator
DAPHNE Silver Donator

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:56 am
Posts: 23
I finally got my 20th Anniversary and Thayer's discs from Digital Leisure... Paid $15 for the Priority shipping at it took 9 days to arrive. :(

Anyway, I put the Dragon's Lair disc in the DVD and launched Daphne Loader v.2.1.45. It came up and said there was an update, a status bar appeared, then Daphne Loader closed and said it was unable to run updater. I'm running Vista 32bit.

I repeated this a couple times but didn't get any update. Is there a new update to Loader, or was it just recognizing the DVD? I finally canceled the update and am now converting the DVD video, but I don't want to miss out on any updates. :cry:

Side note: there was flyer inside the order that said there's going to HD-DVD versions of Dragon's Lair, Dragon's Lair 2 and Space Ace. 8)


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 125 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net