It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 8:38 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Will Dexter work with American Laser Games and multiRom kit?
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 3:09 am 
Registered User
Registered  User

Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 9:40 pm
Posts: 17
I don't have one of these yet but I was wondering if the Dexter will work with the ALG multirom kit Shaun Wood sells and I would just need to switch the dial and have the correct image loaded? Is that how this would work?


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Will Dexter work with American Laser Games and multiRom
PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2016 5:19 am 
DAPHNE Creator
DAPHNE Creator

Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 2118
Location: Salt Lake City,Utah, USA
DreamTR wrote:
I don't have one of these yet but I was wondering if the Dexter will work with the ALG multirom kit Shaun Wood sells and I would just need to switch the dial and have the correct image loaded? Is that how this would work?


It should work, but you would need to manually change the disc images. Shaun's multirom would not automatically tell Dexter which laserdisc image to load.

_________________
Check out my cool projects!


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Will Dexter work with American Laser Games and multiRom
PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2016 10:22 pm 
DAPHNE Platinum Donator
DAPHNE Platinum Donator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 114
Location: Italy
Just a proposal: perhaps a game "autodetection" can be implemented in Dexter on the base of the first command(s) issued by the game board. This could theoretically be valid for any game.

_________________
Matteo


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Will Dexter work with American Laser Games and multiRom
PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2016 1:18 am 
DAPHNE Team
DAPHNE Team

Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 293
We've been discussing a few possibilities, but nothing definitive yet. (No promises that it will even happen at this point...)

I think best case would be if someone could hack the game ROMs so they send a custom "disc select" command at startup, but I don't know if anyone is willing/able to take that on.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net