It is currently Thu Nov 15, 2018 8:11 pm


All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Dragon's Lair : is ribbon cable plugged in backward?
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2017 9:16 pm 
Registered User
Registered  User

Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 9:08 pm
Posts: 3
Just installed Dexter this weekend and it won't start a game. The pulse light is flashing, the LD-V1000 light is lit, I can get it to autoplay the video but the light for the SD drive is just one red. Turn off and eject and reinsert SD drive and turn on and same thing one red led. I am plugged into the internet right now and am in Dexter Manager and nothing much is happening.

Watched all the videos and read all the posts and not sure what to do next.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dexter not starting Dragon's Lair
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2017 9:32 pm 
DAPHNE Creator
DAPHNE Creator

Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 2118
Location: Salt Lake City,Utah, USA
WJ8 wrote:
Just installed Dexter this weekend and it won't start a game. The pulse light is flashing, the LD-V1000 light is lit, I can get it to autoplay the video but the light for the SD drive is just one red. Turn off and eject and reinsert SD drive and turn on and same thing one red led. I am plugged into the internet right now and am in Dexter Manager and nothing much is happening.

Watched all the videos and read all the posts and not sure what to do next.


So you have it plugged in according to the pictures shown here? http://laserdisc-replacement.com/help/

If so, I can remotely log in and help you troubleshoot.

_________________
Check out my cool projects!


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dexter not starting Dragon's Lair
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2017 9:43 pm 
Registered User
Registered  User

Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 9:08 pm
Posts: 3
Yes, it is plugged directly into my internet router/switch.


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dexter not starting Dragon's Lair
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2017 10:11 pm 
DAPHNE Creator
DAPHNE Creator

Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2001 1:00 am
Posts: 2118
Location: Salt Lake City,Utah, USA
WJ8 wrote:
Yes, it is plugged directly into my internet router/switch.


Ok, I logged in and enabled diagnose mode and auto-detect mode.

It auto-detected the interface as PR-7820. I am seeing no activity.

This could mean a few things:
- the ribbon cable that goes to dexter may be plugged in backward on the dragon's lair motherboard. Check the orientation of the cable.

or

- the game is waiting for a response from dexter that will never come since dexter started up in the wrong mode. try restarting the game.

or

- there is something wrong with your dragon's lair hardware that is unrelated to dexter. I can't help with that :(

_________________
Check out my cool projects!


Top
Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dexter not starting Dragon's Lair
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2017 11:15 pm 
Registered User
Registered  User

Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 9:08 pm
Posts: 3
Yes, my ribbon cable was plugged in backwards. Doh! It is working great.

Thank you Matt!


Top
Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Theme created StylerBB.net